The Da Vinci Award was presented to Rabia Mobeen by BCLA President, Neil Retallic at the BCLA Clinical Conference 2023 in Manchester.

BCLA Da Vinci Award

The BCLA Da Vinci Award recognises work or an idea from any member of the contact lens industry in its widest sense. It is given biennially to the author of a completed project or practical contribution to the field of contact lenses and/or anterior eye.

It is intended that this Award should recognise work by those who are not established contact lens researchers; specifically, applicants should NOT have published more than five papers related to the field of contact lenses and/or anterior eye. Equally, the award may be given in recognition of a useful contribution by a member of staff within the contact lens-related manufacture and supply industry.

This Award will be given to the candidate whose completed project (or summary of practical contribution), relating to design, manufacture, clinical research or instrumentation in the field of contact lens practice and/or anterior eye. This will be judged by the BCLA Academic Committee from those abstracts submitted to the biennial Clinical Conference in the UK and whose first author identifies themselves as having published less than 5 paper in the field of contact lenses and/or anterior eye.

Applications will be assessed on originality, presentation and overall methodology. Once ratified by the BCLA Council, the decision of the BCLA Academic Committee is final and binding. Under no circumstance will correspondence be entered into. Note: Council members of the BCLA may not submit an application for the award during their period of office.

The winning applicant will receive:

  • One conference package comprising delegate fee and accommodation to the BCLA Clinical Conference
  • Award plaque

If you would like to be considered, please ensure you read the full award criteria 
and declare your interest on the BCLA Call for Papers submission form.

BCLA Da Vinci Award Recipients

2023 Rabia Mobeen 
2021       Marta Blanco-Vazquez (Spain)
2019       Parthasarathi Kalaiselvan (Australia)
2015       Benjamin Coldrick (United Kingdom)
2014       Dr Alex Hui (Canada)
2013       Ka Yin Chan (China)
2012       Charles White (USA)
2011       Rachel Ashdown (Sheffield Hallam University)
2010       Fabian Conrad (Australia)
2009       Paul Gifford (UNSW Sydney, Australia)
2007       Dr B A Golebiowski (UNSW Sydney, Australia)
2006       Ms Racheal Peterson (Aston University)
2004       Mrs Christine Purslow (Aston University)
2003       Ms Maria Luisa Simo Mannion (UMIST)
2002       Ms Caroline Karlgard (Waterloo, Canada)
2001       Mr Marc Schulze (Germany, Canada)
2000       Mr Klaus Ehrman (Germany, Australia)
1998       Miss Becky Drinkwater (Aston Univeristy)
1992       Mr David McGowan (City University)